Skip to main content
Crisis Support
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Shell
New Contributor

Feeling uncertain

Hi,
This is my first time posting here.
My husband and I welcomed our first baby, a son, 8 months ago.
We had a fairly straight forward pregnancy, however had an early miscarriage 3 months prior to falling pregnant with our son.
The birth was also mostly ok, however it did become a little more stressful due to baby distress and positioned poorly for birth. All turned out OK.
I was then unable to continue breastfeeding, this was a major personal goal for myself... And something I am still teary about. Even though my son is happy and healthy.

I haven't received the formal diagnosis, so I guess I am just sharing some of my feelings and experiences to see if I should follow through with further care.
I love my son with every ounce of my being. My husband is an amazingly supportive and patient man.

Prior to and even now, I am a bit of a perfectionist. So having a baby to care for and seeing my home upkeep diminish even just slightly, has been difficult.
I am constantly fixated on my sons sleep, he doesn't sleep consistently well during the day (sleeps range from 30 minutes to 1.5hrs, however he is more regularly a catnapper). He sleeps amazing overnight. But any time he is sleeping I am anxious that he is going to wake. I am constantly comparing how much sleep he has had compared to friends who have similar aged bubs.
I feel like I don't have a lot of the old fun me in me anymore. I am always stressed.