Skip to main content
Crisis Support
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

tfishface
New Contributor

My Spouse Has Bipolar

Hi everyone, I'm 19 years old, so I'm a young carer & this is also my first time caring for someone.

This is my first time in the 2 years I have been committed to my partner that I have reached out to anyone who is also struggling with similar issue's & is reaching out for help themselves. I have only now started to realise that, if I didn't seek support soon, I may not only loose my relationship, but myself in the midst.
Bipolar is not easy. Mental illness, which ever it may be, is not only challenging, but it can be downright evil & overwhelming.
I wake up some nights at 3am, to my partner sitting up in bed next to me in the pitch black, crying uncontrollably because something I see as a small problem, she see's as world crumbling. I am worried to voice my opinion, or not do as she asks because her anger isn't just anger, it's venomous, hurtful words, & sometimes more...
I am told I'm loved one day, & the next I am hated & wanted to never bee seen again. No matter what, the emotions she has are escalated to the maximum.
And now, because I have forgotten about myself, I am resentful of her. I am rethinking our relationship, but it is because I haven't focused on myself. I am confused. I love my partner, she makes me feel whole though this is bringing me down.
I would love some advice & to hear people's experiences. I just feel like I'm the only one & I need to know I'm not.
7 REPLIES 7

Re: My Spouse Has Bipolar

Tough situation.  Your partner sounds stressed and is releasing it.  The actual triggers may be small but when tipping points are reached it does not take much.