Skip to main content
Crisis Support
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Social Spaces

Jlb
Contributor

Employment for Bipolar Disorder Type 1

Hi all,  

My name is Julia I have Bipolar disorder type 1.  I do pretty well but the most difficult thing I find is employment.  Does anyone else with bipolar type 1 have the same issues?  I find a job but maintaining the job is so difficult.  I have a law degree and a nursing degree. I work hard, dress well, speak well and I am intelligent.  However maintaining work has me lost. Can someone shed light.  Please 🙏 

18 REPLIES 18

Re: Employment for Bipolar Disorder Type 1

Hi @Jlb, welcome to the forum. Smiley Happy

Mainly just wanted to say hi from another with a bipolar 1 diagnosis. I also want to give you a link to a members' discussion thread that is happening called 'Let's talk about Bipolar'. Here is a bit of my story...

At 59, I now live on a disability pension. I personally did not find an answer to the severe difficulties I had with regular jobs, though I tried and tried with them until about 10 years ago. One job I sustained for five years a long time ago, was casual, average 20 hours per week, also very flexible with hours and days off.

One of the biggest issues for me was the social anxiety I experience which seemed to just ramp up and up to breaking point in the workplace. Also, extreme sleep disorder has been a big feature of my bipolar and consequently routines are the ultimate difficulty for me, even now.