Skip to main content
Crisis Support
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

New Contributor

Feel so alone

I'm not a carer, rather a daughter who admittantly doesnt know much about mental health. This is my first time on here, apologies if this sounds like a rant:

I live at home with my mother, who I believe suffers from some form of mental illness. I think it's anxiety, although she refuses to seek medical attention. Growing up, she has always been controlling and demanding, we had what felt like a thousand rules in our household, some things were somewhat reasonable, many did not seem to be. Often she we would 'fly off the handle' into a fit if rage (not violent but often verbal abuse) - I have thick skin and so do other family members so even though it was painful I learnt to think nothing of it, just go and hide in my room until it was over. That all got worse after she had a major surgery about 6 years ago, afterwards she seemed to become more and more afraid of everything, rules to live in the house became even more strenuous etc. After her mother died of dementia it amplified - we are now living in a household that to me feels like a prison. Isolation due to Covid-19 has made her even more 'formiddable'. I am afraid to go near her or touch something in the house without her 'blowing up' at me about the inevitable mistake she believes I have made - even when I have done my utmost to follow her directions and am trying to do something nice for her.